*For all press release inquiries, please reach out to Nick Sabin (Nick.Sabin@mail.house.gov)

Washington, D.C. - Congressman Tom Emmer (MN-06) today joined nine* of his colleagues in announcing the launch of a bipartisan Cuba Working Group along with its steering committee.

“An overwhelming majority of the American people supports a change in our policy towards Cuba and the creation of the Cuba Working Group highlights that consensus,” said Emmer. “Since last year, a massive and sweeping change has occurred in our policy towards Cuba, which has benefits for farmers, manufacturers, and most importantly the Cuban and American people. I’m proud to join with my colleagues from both sides of the aisle to advance policies that will improve human rights, create opportunities for American exports, and improve our national security and foreign policy.”

In a letter to Speaker Paul Ryan and Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi announcing the group’s formation, the steering committee members said:

Increasingly, the American people are indicating their desire for a new, more pragmatic approach to Cuba. More people are traveling from the U.S. to Cuba, more businesses are looking for opportunity on the island, and more sectors are eager for trade. The bi-partisan Cuba Working Group will promote a U.S.-Cuba policy that reflects the interests of the American people in engagement with Cuba.

The letter concludes, “Our goal is to raise the level of understanding inside of Congress for the need to build a new policy framework for U.S.-Cuban relations.”

The bipartisan Cuba Working Group Steering Committee Members are: Kathy Castor (D-FL), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Rick Crawford (R-AR), Rosa DeLauro (D-CT), Rodney Davis* (R-IL), Tom Emmer (R-MN), Sam Farr (D-CA), Barbara Lee (D-CA), Betty McCollum* (D-MN), Jim McGovern (D-MA), Ted Poe (R-TX), Reid Ribble (R-WI), Mark Sanford* (R-SC), Nydia Velazquez* (D-NY).


Letter to Speaker Ryan and Democratic Leader Pelosi can be found here: Cuba Working Group.

Emmer is the sponsor of H.R. 3238 - the Cuba Trade Act of 2015. For more information, visit emmer.house.gov/cuba.                         

*Additional Members were added to the Cuba Working Group Steering Committee after Congressman Emmer's Press Release was sent.